Meet Meryl Williams, Road Trip Maven and Fellow Podcaster

meryl

 

Meet Meryl Williams! Meryl is a writer based in Columbus, Ohio who previously lived in Chicago and Portland, Oregon. She’s documenting her experiences playing roller derby via her TinyLetter. You can find her at www.MerylWilliamsMedia.com and on Twitter @MerylWilliams.

Meryl is also the host of the podcast The Sleeper Hit where guests talk about what’s underrated, over drinks! You can subscribe on iTunes.

Find out more about Meryl after the jump:

1) Where have you traveled?

Almost exclusively within the continental U.S.! When I was 11, my parents took my brother and I to Quebec, though. Then when I was 19, our family took a two-week trip to England, Wales, and Scotland!

2) What’s been your favorite trip so far?

I really like checking out another American cities, although I have an expensive habit of moving to them after touring them. I’ve been to Salt Lake City a few times to see a good friend, and I think it’s one of my favorite places to visit. Seattle is also gorgeous!

3) What are three things you always take with you when you travel?

I like to have multiple reading/Audible options, and I recently invested in a good neck pillow because I am 30 and I think about things like that now. Finally, I always pack chocolate.

4) What’s your next destination?

I’m visiting a friend in Switzerland! She just moved there this past fall. I think we’re going to meet in Paris, something I am extremely excited about. I also have a years-long plan to go to Vermont for a long weekend with my two long-distance BFFs. It started out as a joke, but now we’re actually doing it.

5) Give us one reason why you travel.

It gives me the best feelings of freedom and independence to step onto a plane with a coffee and a book and now I’m about to land somewhere completely different! It’s exciting. I can’t get enough of it. I love traveling this huge, beautiful country and I’m excited to branch out into more international travel soon.

Leave a comment